Day 5: Inspiration (Christmas Eve)

2-3-2006-009

I was really excited when I seen this topic come across the page. The topic of inspiration is on that is very important to me. I feel as though I have been inspired through the most difficult struggles in my life, which has lead me to help others and find my purpose in life. I am always interested in hearing about what inspires someone else and seeing the excitement on their faces. Although, many people lack the motivation and drive to put forth the effort to follow their inspirations. They allow fear and doubt to hold them back from exploring the things that inspire them or don’t know how to figure out what their purpose in life is.

Finding one’s purpose in life is a very unique experience that should be a natural process. Psychology Today suggests that, “Connecting with and living your purpose is a beautiful journey that typically unfolds in mysterious and surprising ways. It’s not something to be forced, or something to actively worry about “having to” find. I like to think of it as a treasure hunt, a perfectly paced adventure with your eyes and heart wide open.” I can think back to being a kid and everyone asking me what I wanted to be when I got older. Well, truth be told, many kids, especially young kids, have no idea what they want to do. People need inspiration before they can figure out what their purpose in life is. Wayne Dyer suggests when he found his purpose in life he notices a shift in his mind and a deeper connect. He states “I know that I am not along and that divine guidance is with me, and I speak or write effortlessly. It seems to me that the body and the mmd are in a state of harmony during those moments. Some have called this state “flow,” other call it “peak experience” (p.19).

So how does one go about looking for their purpose? Wayne Dyer suggests that one should consider When do I feel most fulfilled? When do I feel extraordinary, and life a great person” (p. 20)?  According to Psychology Today, in order to find one’s passion they should ask themselves the following questions “1) What do you love to do, that you would do even if you don’t get paid for it? 2) What do other people say you’re really good at? 3) What is the one thing you want to experience, or do, or accomplish, before you die, so that on your last day on earth you feel satisfied and have no regrets in that area?”

I think that inspiration and finding a purpose can happen in some of the most unpredictable times in someones life.  For instance, I didn’t want to be a therapist when I was a kid until the most difficult thing happen in my life. My father died when I was 11 and I was forced in to therapy. I did not like my therapist nor did I talk very much in my sessions. I was anger at the world and was grieving the loss of the most important person in my life. As therapy went on, I built rapport with my therapist, and started to think I could do this as a job. Now I get to inspire other to challenge themselves, educate people on how to live a healthier life, and ultimately help them find a greater sense of peace. I have one of the greatest jobs in the world and I thank God everyday for it.

Thanks for reading,

Rebecca Hunt, MS

Dyer, W. (2002). Wisdom of the ages: A modern master brings eternal truths into everyday life. New York: Quill

Helping You Find Your Life Purpose. (n.d.). Retrieved December 24, 2014, from http://www.psychologytoday.com/blog/prescriptions-life/201311/helping-you-find-your-life-purpose

Leave a Reply

