Day 6 after a short break for Christmas: TRIUMPHS

IMG_1496

A very purposeful topic! How does one seek triumph in their life? I would bet that many people do not seek triumph the way that our very brilliant ancestors did. I have to stay true to the writings of Wayne Dyer for this topic because it resonates so closely to the way I feel about having triumph. I will add my own thought and the thoughts of Dyer in relation to the excerpt from Marcus Tullius Cicero (106 B.C.-43 B.C) who developed the following six principles as a statement of  rebellion against the Roman’s ways by listing The Six Mistakes of Man

1)The illusion that person gain is made up of crushing others. It’s hard for me to fathom has terrible it is to seek enjoyment of taking advantage of others. So many people feel a false sense of triumph by putting other people down or feeling better than someone else. No one is inferior to the next person. Everyone has their own talents and abilities. I always tell people that everyone has their own niche in the world. Some people know a little bit about this and other’s know something about that. No matter what you know or who you are its essential to not gain triumph at the cost of others.

2) The tendency to worry about things that cannot be changed or corrected. I can’t tell you how enriching it is to let go of things you cannot change and stop worrying about meanless things. Many people spend so much of their day worrying about this and that instead of enjoying the moment and relaxing. I understand the need to plan, set goals, and meet expectations. I’m not talking about that. What I am taking about is worrying about stupid stuff. I suggest living for the moment whenever possible.

3) Insisting that a thing is impossible because we cannot accomplish it. “No one knows enough to be a pessimist”(Dyer, p. 23)! Just because we personally have not experienced something or don’t have the ability to obtain something doesn’t mean it’s impossible. Our ancestors could not have imaged all the great things we have today. One reason I love Walt Disney World is that they depict just that idea. People in the stone age could not have imaged having computers, email, or cars. We have created the modern comforts of today because brilliant people like yourself came up with that very idea.  Don’t sell yourself short on your cool idea and surely don’t shoot down someone else’s. Who know’s it could be the next big thing.

4) Refusing to set aside trivial preferences. One that I see so much in counseling sessions. So many people get caught up in what other people think of them. “We allow our precious life enemies to be spent on worry about what others think of us, petty concerns about appearance or what labels we are wearing” (Dyer, p. 23). So many of my families let minor issues become monumental concerns. We let such insignificant details about issues, trespasses, comments, and posts jade us to the core. Please tell me how this is helpful? If you answer it doesn’t, you are RIGHT! There is an old saying about DON’T SWEAT THE SMALL STUFF.

5) Neglecting development and refinement of the mind, and not acquiring the habit of reading or study. This is a big one for me, hence the reason I am doing this blog. I want to continue learning and growing to enhance my life not for the sake of impressing anyone else or because I have to . I am doing it to enriching my life and the lives of others. Dyer states that, “Too many of us believe that we are unable to make a difference on the large issues, so we immerse ourselves in our game of ego-sponsored trivial pursuit” (p. 23). I know that a friendly game of trivial pursuit can be fun as a board game, yet I wouldn’t recommend it in real life. So many of us are in pursuit of information that is generally irrelevant in the whole scope of life. Continue to challenge yourself to learn new things just for the sake of learning something interesting, not because you have to. Find things that are meaningful to learn about and know.

6) Attempting to compel others to believe and live as we do. I know how easy it is to try to tell someone how to live their life or what decision they should make. But guess what? NO ONE LIKES TO BE ORDERED AROUND. This is something that I am still learning in my life. I can be quite bossy from time to time and thinking my way is the best. This is obviously a faulty way of thinking and limits other people’s autonomy. We all are full of good ideas.  What is most important in life is to know that we are in control of our own destinies. It’s sometimes helpful to offer’s one opinion to someone in attempt to better their life, yet imposing one’s values on someone, especially when it’s not warranted, is usually hurtful and damaging. Everyone has to experience their own journey’s and some people makes some incredible changes out of their worst experiences. My best advice it to let somethings be.

It’s so important that we concentrate on ourselves and do what we can to improve our own lives. Do what you can be build other’s up without feeling the need to crush them or compete with them in anyway. Don’t focus so much attention on what we feel as though we must know, rather continue to educate yourself on the plethora of knowledge that you seek out. Always have a thirst for knowledge that will help you be a better version of beautiful you. Seek as many triumphs following these timeless principles.

Thanks for reading,

Rebecca Hunt, MS

Dyer, W. (2002). Wisdom of the ages: A modern master brings eternal truths into everyday life. New York: Quill

Leave a Reply

