Day 8: Divinity

IMAG0861_1

Sorry for those who are ready my blog for the delay. I have also been studying for a big exam so I will post when I can. I will eventually get all 60 days done!

According to Wikipedia Divinity is “In religious terms, divinity is the state of things that come from a supernatural power or deity, such as a god, or spirit beings, and are therefore regarded as sacred and holy.

What religious background or beliefs you hold are not important to me. How you live your life and treat other’s is.  I can recall back to my days attending a non-denominational church that use to recite the Prayer for Protection, which I feel embodies what divinity means to me

The Prayer of Protection
Written by James Dillet Freeman
  
The Light of God surrounds you.
The Love of God enfolds you.
The power of God protects you.
The Presence of God watches over you.
The Mind of God guides you.
The Life of God flows through you.
The Laws of God direct you.
The Peace of God abides within you.
The Joy of God uplifts you.
The Strength of God renews you.
The Beauty of God inspires you.
Wherever you are, God is!
And all is well. Amen.
This prayer has always guided me and helps me understand the power of God in my life. Whenever I get overwhelmed or frustrated I often think about the bigger picture and the presence of God in my life. I truly believe that one’s believe in a higher power is a great source of power to overcome whatever life brings for you. This post isn’t attempting to convert your beliefs, but simply send you a message of the importance of understanding how some people find peace though their belief’s. According to Wayne Dyer one can use the presence of their God to understand the magnitude of their thinking ability. “It is not the things, events, circumstances, and opinions of others that cause you to feel uneasy and unsettled, it is how you use the God within, your invisible source, to process those extremes that determines your happiness—and nothing more” (p. 33)!
I understand if you don’t agree with the information shared here, yet you must know that many people do believe in the power of God and all that encompasses having faith in God. It’s something that many people are passionate about, yet it is also something that cause so much hate and issues. In order to have peace in this world, we don’t all have to have the same set of beliefs, unlike many people believe. What I like to say about my religion is that my God doesn’t live in a box. I have many beliefs from a variety of religions. What is important is that I don’t let my beliefs get in the way of my ability to connect with people. So not matter who you are, what you believe, or where you are from I will love you, accept you, and be kind to you as long as you reciprocate the love, acceptance, and kindness.
Thanks for reading,
References
 Divinity. (n.d.). Retrieved January 6, 2015, from http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Divinity
 Dyer, W. (2002). Wisdom of the ages: A modern master brings eternal truths into everyday life. New York: Quill
The Prayer of Protection. (n.d.). Retrieved January 6, 2015, from http://www.unitychurch.org/prayer-protection
Leave a Reply

